Alex Canovas / Artistic Director

11th Annual Competition for Young Composers

After much deliberation, we are pleased to announce our three finalists for the 11th Annual Competition for Young Composers:

Erik DeLong (Van Nuys, CA)
Luke Flynn (Indianapolis, IN)
Sarah Horick (Silver Spring, MD)

These three finalists will each be commissioned to compose an original work to be premiered by the YNYC mixed ensemble at its June 2015 concert. The first place winner will receive the $1,000 Nathan Davis Prize in Composition. The other two finalists will receive $500 each.

With over 75 submissions from 23 states and 7 countries, we had an incredibly strong group of composers’ work to consider. We can’t wait to get to know our finalists and experience their art! For the winning piece from our 2014 competition (from Jake Runestad), listen here.

Categories: Uncategorized

Post a Comment

Your email is kept private. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>